铁矿石掉期

在过去的五年中,铁矿石掉期已经成为了对冲及为生产者和消费者的一致好评风险管理的主要工具。

FIS帮助开发市场、鼓励掉期的开发工作、让主要交易所接受该市场并扩大清算的服务范围。铁矿石是所交易和运输的最大干散货商品之一。每年的铁矿石产量大约为20亿公吨,2012年的铁矿石海上贸易估计在12亿公吨,产值大约为1540亿美元。

金融危机刚发生之前的价格变动可以清楚地说明:年度基准定价机制已经不再适用。为此,买家和卖家采用了月度和季度定价的实体销售方案,但不包括现货销售和部分年度合约。短期交易和与指数挂钩的定价的出现为生产商、消费者、银行和交易商管理其价格风险和披露提供了一个巨大机遇。

作为第一家独立的铁矿石掉期经纪公司,FIS将为包括伦敦清算和新交所亚洲结算所在内的清算所提供每日远期曲线,以确保得到准确的按市值计评估,进而为交易决定提供支持。经过清算的铁矿石合约作为场外交易及现金结算协议,并对TSI钢铁指数、华北62% FE级产品交付进行结算。

关于铁矿石掉期

一般情况下,根据国际掉期与衍生产品协会协议,交易可以在英国金属导报MBIO指数或普氏铁矿石指数进行双边结算。交易可以按月度、季度或年度进行,价格引用时长为24个月。伦敦结算所、芝加哥商业交易所、挪威期货和期权清算所和新交所亚洲结算行的清算业务通过消除交易对方风险和将来管控要求确保铁矿石掉期可以满足市场需求。

Iron Ore Swaps

Over the last five years, the iron ore swap has emerged as the leading instrument for hedging and risk management for producers and consumers alike.

FIS was instrumental in developing this market, encouraging the development of the swap, its acceptance by major trading houses and expanding the availability of clearing. Iron ore is one of the biggest dry bulk commodities traded and shipped. Annual iron ore production is around 2bn tonnes with seaborne trade in 2012 estimated at 1.2bn tonnes and worth approximately $154bn.

The price volatility noted even before the beginning of the financial crisis clearly illustrated that the mechanism for fixing an annual benchmark price was no longer fit for purpose. In its place, buyers and sellers have moved to a physical sales programme with prices fixed monthly and quarterly, in addition to spot sales and some annual contracts. The emergence of short-term trading and index-linked pricing presents a huge opportunity for producers and consumers, banks and traders to manage their price risk and exposure.

The first independent brokerage for iron ore swaps, FIS continues to provide a daily forward curve to clearing houses LCH.Clearnet and SGX AsiaClear to ensure an accurate mark-to-market assessment that supports trading decisions. The cleared iron ore derivative contract operates as an over-the-counter, cash-settled agreement, with settlement against The Steel Index TSI, 62% FE grade product delivery North China.

Trades can also be settled bilaterally against the Metal Bulletin MBIO or Platts Iron Ore Index, generally under an International Swaps and Derivatives Association agreement. Trades can be made on a per month, per quarter or per calendar year basis and prices are quoted up to 24 months forward. The availability of clearing at LCH.Clearnet, CME, NOS and SGX AsiaClear ensures that the iron ore swap is designed to meet the needs of the market, through elimination of counterparty risk and future regulatory requirements.