远期运费协议

FIS是全球领先的航运风险管理提供商之一。我们的经纪商与客户紧密合作,进而为流动性最高的运费合约提供有效的对冲和交易机会。

远期运费协议(FFA)使船东、租船方和交易方免于受到佣船市场固有的不稳定性的影响。

运费市场中的变化(包括指数定价的增加,反映了运费市场的高频变动)使得运费衍生品的使用更重要了。目前的市场条件和注重成本降低强调了对有效风险管理策略的需求。

FFA交易使得期货(合同)市场中的仓位可作为远期现金(现货)交易的一种替代物。一般情况下,合约将依据远期运费协议经纪人协会和国际掉期与衍生产品协会条款和条件。

85%的远期运费协议干货市场依据波罗的海交易所的海岬型、巴拿马型、超灵便型与灵便型船期租平均指数进行交易,有15%的交易针对特定航线的。

运费衍生品为船东、租船方和交易商提供许多优势:

  • 远期运费协议容易建仓和平仓,可以实现获利回吐和更好的现金管理;
  • 远期运费协议远期曲线可以指引未来市场价格走势走势。运费远期合约可达三年之久;
  • 在远期运费协议期满之前,可以买入或卖出仓位,无需与交易对手进行实货履约和重新协定;
  • 远期运费协议市场99%已经经过清算,使参与者可以很好地规避交易对手违约风险。

海岬型船

海岬型船远期运费协议为商品运费衍生品组成的一部分,可为整体市场提供最佳的指示方向。就所交易的航线及港口灵活性而言,这种船的尺寸所受的限制最多,但所运输的铁矿石、动力煤和焦煤货物是航运市场标的的驱动力。

渐渐地,海岬型船远期运费协议短期和中期内的流动性较大,可以为策略提供长期交易/对冲机会,一般会达到两到三年的远期期限。

期租平均的天和季度合约4的交易的流动性都很强。就特定的航线而言,原材料生产商、消费者以及商品交易商对C3和 C5铁矿石航线越来越感兴趣。

巴拿马船

巴拿马极限型船远期运费协议是运费衍生品市场中最常见的交易产品。随着使用巴拿马型船运费衍生品的公司数目持续增加,该部分的业务为参与者(主要是巴拿马型船东、租船方、粮仓、煤炭交易商、铁矿石和钢铁供应商、金融机构)提供了很好的机遇。

该产品地域覆盖范围广,为环太平洋、环大西洋、大陆/远东和四个期租契约航线提供现成的买入/卖出价。近期以来,市场中的衍生品交易商的数量逐渐递增,他们利用市场的流动性来控制运费市场风险。

超灵便型船

超灵便型船衍生品为大小散装货运输市场参与者提供一个持续而有效的机制,进而便于管理和控制小型船舶的费用波动风险。

交易活动的兴起为船东和租船方提供了清晰的方向。除了提供短期和中期价格外,船东和租船方期望利用合约市场来对冲其长期收益。

灵便型

灵便型船是干散货行业中最小但最常见的船舶。此类型的交易以前只用于试行,但由于需求的增长,2007年起它逐渐活跃起来。灵便型船远期运费协议为从事小型散装商品运输的参与者提供良好的套期保值机遇。

随着灵便型船所带来的潜在机遇越来越多,则存在一个更复杂多变的潜在市场。与超灵便型船一样,期租航线平均合约是使用最广泛的交易工具。

FFAs

FIS is one of the leading providers of freight risk management globally. Our brokers work closely with clients to provide effective hedging and trading opportunities across the most liquid freight contracts.

Forward Freight Agreements (FFAs) offer shipowners, charterers and traders a means of protecting themselves against the inherent volatility in the charter market.

Changes in the freight market, including the increased use of index pricing reflecting higher volatility in freight rates have made the use of freight derivatives more important than ever. Current market conditions and a focus on cost saving only heighten the need for effective risk management strategies.

Trading FFAs entails taking a position in a futures (paper) market as a substitute for a forward cash (physical) transaction. Contracts will normally be based on the terms and conditions of the Forward Freight Agreement Brokers Association and the International Swaps and Derivatives Association.

Some 85% of the dry FFA market is traded on the Baltic Exchange’s Capesize, Panamax, Supramax and Handysize Time Charter average indices, with 15% traded on the individual routes.

Freight derivatives offer a number of advantages to owners, charterers and traders.

  • FFAs are easy to fix and close out which allows profit-taking and better cash management;
  • FFA forward curves are a good indication of future price direction. Freight rates can be guaranteed for up to three years ahead;
  • FFA positions can be bought or sold prior to expiry, with no physical performance and no re-negotiations from counterparties;
  • The FFA market is 99% cleared which provides participants with protection against counterparty default risk.

Capesize

Capesize FFAs are the segment within the freight derivative family of products that provide arguably the best indicator of overall market direction.

In terms of the routes traded and port flexibility, this vessel size is the most limited, yet the iron ore, steam and coking coal cargoes carried are the drivers for the underlying physical market.

Increasingly, Capesize FFAs offer considerable liquidity in the short and medium term and also progressively offer strategies for longer term trading/hedging opportunities, often up to two to three years forward.

The most liquid trading is found in the average of the 4 Time Charter Routes in a combination of days and quarters. Of the individual routes, C3 and C5 iron ore routes are of increasing interest to raw materials producers and consumers as well as to commodity traders.

Handysize

The Handysize is the smallest but most common vessel in the dry bulk sector. Trading in this category was originally on a trial basis but due to a growing demand it became fully active in 2007.

Handysize FFAs provide good hedging opportunities for participants in shipping of minor bulk commodities.

With the amount of physical opportunities potentially available in Handysize, there is potential for a much more sophisticated and liquid marketplace. As with Supramaxes, the average of the time charter routes is the most widely-traded instrument.

Panamax

Panamax FFAs are the most widely traded product within the freight derivatives marketplace.

Given the consistent increase in the number of companies that are using Panamax freight derivatives, this segment of the business offers encouraging opportunities for its participants – principally Panamax owners and charterers, grain houses, coal traders, iron ore and steel suppliers and financial institutions.

The product also boasts widespread geographic coverage, with bid/offer prices readily available on the Pacific Round, Atlantic Round, Continent/Far East and Four Time Charter Routes. Consequently, over the recent past the market has seen a rise in paper traders who utilise the market’s liquidity to control freight market exposure.

Supramax

Supramax derivatives provide a consistently effective mechanism for major and minor bulk shipping market participants to manage and control their exposure to the prevailing volatility in freight rates in smaller vessel classes.

An upsurge in trading activity has also given clear direction to owners and charterers looking to take advantage of the paper market to hedge their long-term earnings in addition to providing options for short and medium-term price cover.